# Elm River Joint Water Resource District Thursday, December 8, 2022 – 1:00 p.m.

The Elm River Joint Water Resource District met on Thursday, December 8, at 1:50 p.m., at the Bismarck Hotel and Conference Center in Bismarck, North Dakota. Present were Chairman Robert Thompson and Water Managers Josh Ihry and Jason Siegert. Lyndon Pease and Joshua Hassell, the Board's engineers; Sean Fredricks, the Board's attorney; Jessica Spaeth, Secretary-Treasurer; Traill County WRD Manager Joel Halvorson; and Tasha Krueger, Secretary-Treasurer for the Steele County Water Resource District were also present.

#### **Approval of Meeting Minutes**

Manager Ihry moved to approve the minutes of the November 1 meeting. Manager Siegert seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

# Treasurer's Report

Manager Ihry moved to approve the treasurer's report as presented. Manager Siegert seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

Manager Ihry moved to approve the bills as presented. Manager Siegert seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

# Elm River Dams No. 1 and No. 2 Improvement Project No. 2022-01 Update

Lyndon Pease provided an update on Elm River Dam No. 1 (Steele Dam) and Dam No. 2 (Augustadt Dam). Moore submitted the State construction permit on November 23 for Elm River Dam No. 1, which included signed plans, specifications, and a design documentation report. Moore anticipates submitting the State construction permit for Elm River Dam No. 2 on December 9. Construction is anticipated to begin in 2023 for both dams. Upon receipt of State construction permit, it's planned that a construction cost-share application will be submitted for consideration at the State Water Commission February 9 or April 13, 2023, meetings. Permitting for both dams was discussed.

## Elm River Dam No. 3 Update

Lyndon Pease provided an update on Elm River Dam No. 3 (Cass Dam). The construction work for phase 1 of removing the existing culvert, dam embankment excavation and stockpile, and riprap placement has been completed. For phase 2, Moore anticipates submitting the State construction permit that will include final plans, specifications, and a design documentation report by end of December.

Manager Siegert moved to approve the Final Balancing Change Order and Contractor's Final Application for Payment in the amount of \$112,410.00. Manager Ihry seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously. The contract amount was \$130,690.00 (reduction of \$18,280.00).

Manager Siegert moved to approve the Secretary-Treasurer and Moore Engineering to submit the Phase 2 State construction permit and to revise any needed cost-share applications and agreements. Manager Ihry seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

#### **Set 2023 Meeting Dates**

Manager Ihry moved to set the following meeting dates, times, and locations for the Elm River Joint Water Resource District in 2023. All meetings will begin at 9:30 a.m. at the Traill County Water Resource District office at 102 1<sup>st</sup> St SW, Hillsboro, ND, unless otherwise noted: February 7, March 7, April 4, May 2, June 6, August 1, September 5, October 3, and November 7. The December meeting will be held on December 7 at 1:00 p.m. at the Bismarck Hotel and Conference Center, 800 S 3<sup>rd</sup> St., Bismarck, ND. Manager Siegert seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

## **Reorganization/Officer Elections**

Manager Ihry moved to nominate Robert Thompson as chairman of the ERJWRD for 2023. Manager Siegert seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously. Manager Ihry moved to approve the following representatives:

Cass County: Robert Thompson; Wes Ecker - alternate Steele County: Josh Ihry; Greg Thykeson – alternate Traill County: Andy Neset; Jason Siegert - alternate

Manager Siegert seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:17 p.m.

	APPROVED:
ATTEST:	Robert Thompson, Chair
Jessica Spaeth, Secretary	_