The Traill County Commissioners came to order in a special joint meeting with Steele County Officials on September 10, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. The joint meeting was held in the Community Room of the Traill County Courthouse.

<u>PURPOSE OF THE MEETING:</u> The meeting was held to review the process, requirements, and feasibility of forming a human service zone, appoint an Interim Human Service Zone Director, appoint members to serve on the Human Service Zone Board and to act upon the draft agreement and joint letter to recognize Traill and Steele Counties as Agassiz Valley Social Service Zone. The provisions and requirements of zone formation are provided for in N.D.C.C. Title 50.

The following officials were present:

<u>Traill County:</u> Commissioners Tom Eblen, Ken Nesvig, Les Amb and Larry Young. Auditor Glenda Haugen, and Chief Deputy Auditor Heather Hovey

<u>Steele County:</u> Commissioners Randy Richards, Ted Johnson and Russell Walcker. Auditor Emily Wigen Traill/Steele County States Attorney Charlie Stock

Agassiz Valley Social Service District Kim Jacobson, Director and Alesha Knudson, Administrative Assistant

The following officials absent from the meeting:

Traill County: Commissioner Kurt Elliott

Steele County: Commissioners Richard Strand and Brian Tuite.

The meeting was called to order and a quorum was confirmed.

SENATE BILL 2124 OVERVIEW: Kim Jacobson gave a brief explanation of Senate Bill 2124 relating to the Human Services Zone formation and requirements. All counties are required by state law to transition to zone configuration effective on 01-01-20. In response to this requirement, it is recommended by the Agassiz Valley Social Service District Board for the two counties to continue to partner and request to transition to a human service zone. Also recommended is for the Agassiz Valley Human Service Zone and the Cass County Human Service Zone to collaborate, at a high level, which would include, but not limit, the Agassiz Valley Human Service Zone to also serve citizens in the northern Cass County area. The process for the formation of a human service zone is two-fold. The first step is an agreement process that will receive approval from ND DHS. The agreement is due no later than December 1, 2019. The second step includes submission of an operations plan which is due by June 30, 2020. This will also require ND DHS approval.

INTERIM ZONE DIRECTOR APPOINTMENT: On motion of Young, seconded by Nesvig and carried to appoint Kim Jacobson as the Interim Director for the Agassiz Valley Social Service Zone, which will take effect January 1, 2020 and will continue until the newly formed Agassiz Valley Human Service Zone Board appoints a director consistent with state law and merit system requirements.

<u>HUMAN SERVICE ZONE BOARD MEMBER APPOINTMENTS</u>: On motion of Nesvig, seconded by Young and carried to appoint the following individuals to the inaugural Agassiz Valley Human Service Zone Board effective January 1, 2020: Traill County Commissioner Thomas Eblen, Doris Vigen and Laurel Larson. Qualifications of each human service zone board member is detailed in the letter addressed to ND DHS.

AGASSIZ VALLEY SOCIAL SERVICE ZONE AGREEMENT AND LETTER TO ND DHS: Jacobson presented a draft human service zone agreement for each Traill County and Steele County along with a joint letter addressed to Christopher Jones, Executive Director of the ND DHS. These items request consideration for the two counties to form a human service zone per agreement. On motion of Eblen, seconded by Young and carried to approve the proposed letter, as amended, and the respective agreement. This approved motion provided authority for Chairman Amb to sign the letter and agreement. This will complete the first step of the formation of a human service zone.

There being no further business to be brought before the board, the meeting was adjourned at 9:47 a.m.

Glenda Haugen, County Auditor	Les Amb, Chairman	